Minnesota Assault Lawyer
Assault accusations are taken very seriously because assault is a violent crime. It is one that can result in great bodily harm to another person. Sometimes an individual is legitimately charged and other times they are not. It is possible for a misunderstanding or a case of self-defense to be misconstrued as assault.
If you have been charged with assault, there is no doubt that you are going through a very difficult time. You are most likely confused and wondering what happens next. With the help of a Minnesota assault lawyer, you can receive the support, answers, and representation that you need to combat the charges against you and secure the best possible outcome.
Quality Defense Against Assault Charges
There are different levels of assault in Minnesota. The exact level of the charge is determined based on the circumstances surrounding the incident. For instance, using deadly force against a peace officer is going to result in First Degree Assault, which is the most serious type. The following is a breakdown of the charges:
- First Degree Assault – The victim has sustained great bodily harm as a result of the assault or deadly force was used against a peace officer while they were on duty.
- Second Degree Assault – The victim was assaulted with a dangerous weapon and sustained significant bodily harm.
- Third Degree Assault – The victim sustained substantial bodily harm or the victim was a child or there has been a repeated pattern of assault against children.
- Fourth Degree Assault – When a person assaults an emergency room doctor, peace officer, nurse, firefighter, natural resource employee, or another such individual. Assaults driven by bias qualify for this as well.
- Fifth Degree Assault – When there is an attempt to cause bodily harm, fear, harm, or death to another person.
- Domestic Assault – The alleged assault is said to have been committed against someone living in the household. This can involve actual physical harm or the threat of physical harm. A person may fear for their life or being injured.
Aggressively Fighting Assault Accusations
A person can be charged with a simple assault charge, but that will still result in a criminal record. The charge can also lead to a felony conviction, which has a penalty of up to 20 years in prison and up to $30,000 in fines. Second-Degree Assault can lead to up to $14,000 in fines and up to 7 years in prison. It is the commitment of your Minnesota assault lawyer to fight the charges and secure a lesser charge so that the penalties are not as serious or to have the charges completely dismissed. If you acted in self-defense, your Minnesota assault lawyer at Arechigo & Stokka will prepare an aggressive defense.
Contact A Minnesota Assault Lawyer
Assault is a violent offense, but it is one that can be confusing due to the fact that it can be a “catch all” for certain violent actions and can even be charged to someone who had to resort to violence in order to defend themselves. If you or a loved one has been charged with assault, it is your right to defend yourself against the charges. To learn about your defense options and to have your rights protected, call the Minnesota assault lawyer at Arechigo & Stokka at 651-222-6603 to schedule a free consultation.